

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE February 26, 2016

Washington Coalition for Open Government 6351 Seaview Avenue NW Seattle Washington 98107-2664

www.washingtoncog.org

Phone: (206) 782-0393

SEATAC CITY COUNCIL RECEIVES KEY AWARD FROM WASHINGTON COALITION FOR OPEN GOVERNMENT

Members of the city council of SeaTac were presented a Key Award by the Washington Coalition for Open Government (WCOG) last Tuesday, in recognition of their prominently posting a plaque containing the preamble to the state Open Public Meetings Act in the council chamber at SeaTac City Hall.

The large Plexiglas plaque, approximately five feet wide and two feet tall, was presented to the city on January 12 by a group of citizens supportive of government transparency. It quotes the following words, which also appear in the state Public Records

Act:

"The people of this state do not yield their sovereignty to the agencies which serve them. The people, in delegating authority, do not give their public servants the right to decide what is good for the people to know and what is not good for them to know. The people insist on remaining informed so that they may retain control over the instruments they have created."

The plaque is mounted on the front wall of the council chamber in full view of the audience and where council members can see it at every meeting.

The award was presented by WCOG President Toby Nixon to SeaTac Mayor Rick Forschler and the other council members in a brief ceremony during the council's regular business meeting on February 23.

"The Coalition believes those three sentences to be the most important words in the entire Revised Code of Washington, and we quote them often." said Nixon. "The SeaTac City Council could have placed this gift in a storage room or private office where nobody would see it, but they gave it a place of honor in their chamber where they and everyone who comes to council meetings will be reminded of the proper relationship between the people and their government. This is a great example for other agencies around the state, and they are to be commended for it."

The Key Award is presented by WCOG in recognition of a single good act in support of open government. Anyone aware of such acts may nominate recipients for consideration by the WCOG board by submitting the nomination form found at http://washingtoncog.org/award-nominations/.

Washington Coalition for Open Government is a statewide, non-partisan, non-profit organization dedicated to advocating for the people's right to know what their government is doing. Membership is open to the public. For more information, contact WCOG at 6351 Seaview Avenue NW, Seattle, WA 98107-2664, on the web at www.washingtoncog.org, or call (206) 782-0393.



2016 Key Award winner SeaTac City Council. Pictured, from left to right: Kathryn Campbell, Tony Anderson, Michael Siefkes (Deputy Mayor), Peter Kwon, Pam Fernald, Erin Sitterley, and Rick Forschler (Mayor).